Welcome to COECSA Research Repository

The College of Ophthalmology of Eastern Central and Southern Africa (COECSA) is a registered specialized virtual college. The college was registered in 2012 after a merger between Eastern Africa College of Opthamologists (EACO) and Ophthalmological Society of Eastern Africa (OSEA). The aim of this college is to address the chronic shortage of ophthalmologists in Eastern, Central &Southern Africa as well as improve the quality of eye care services in the region.
Read More.. COECSA

The College of Ophthalmology of Eastern, Central and Southern Africa (COECSA) Research Repository is a digital archive that collects Masters of Ophthalmology theses, authored by ophthalmologists in the ECSA region. It is open access and all material is downloadable at no cost.

There are several medical training institutions in the ECSA region that train a good number of ophthalmologists who carry out brilliant researches and this repository will host them so they are openly available. This is important, as local literature is invaluable in understanding the disease dynamics in each setting and greatly contributes to patient care and policy.

It is essential that even as we review published works in various regions, we also look at the work that has been done locally. This will improve the knowledge available on the burden of eye care conditions in our region, provide an avenue for international researchers to access local data, and in general, get the information out so that effective evidence based interventions can be carried out where necessary. It will also be easier to understand areas where more research is needed. Starting with the University of Nairobi and Mbarara University of Science and Technology, we are systematically collecting all Masters's theses available in the department libraries and indexing them to: name of author, name(s) of supervisor(s), year, title, key words, abstract, published papers from the research, funders, and PDF downloads, in an open access format. By simply searching the database, you will be able to access this information and even contact the authors of the study if you so wish. We shall increase the contributing universities to include all ophthalmology residency training programs in the ECSA region.

The copyright of the work hosted here belongs the respective awarding institutions and has been certified by the heads of departments as the authentic version. This repository will be updated yearly. COECSA enables continuing professional development in the region and encourages research to thrive and this is one more step towards that goal.

The COECSA Research Repository team is composed of: Dr Simon Arunga, Dr Millicent Bore, Dr Denise Kavuma, Dr Moureen Nyatuga, Mr Josiah Onyango, Ms. Vera Wambiya and Dr Stephen Gichuhi. Acknowledgment goes to: Contributing universities for the material, COECSA for logistical support and Fred Hollows Foundation for supporting this project. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further enquiries at arungasimon@gmail.com

COECSA Research Repository Lauch

This repository was publically lauched by the Rt. Hon. Speaker of the parliament of Uganda Rebbecca. A. Kadaga at the 5th annual COECSA scientific congress in Munyonyo Kampala on 18th August 2017